Cilantro White Bean Lime Soup

YUM!

This soup is perfect for all seasons and beyond delicious (and easily adaptable!)

I first found this recipe on Keep it Simple Foods a few months ago labeled as “Hummus Soup” and decided to wait to make it until I saw my grandmother who loves my hummus. Once we made it though we realized that the cilantro & lime gave it much more of a Mexican flavor. It was delicious and we all fell in love (with both Dad & Rich asking why I had not made it sooner). Unfortunately this soup was barely enough for the 5 of us and I did not get a photo of it – oh darn, I just had to make it again!

I was craving soup in the summer the other day and my mind immediately turned to this Cilantro Lime Soup again! I decided to use one of the fresh hot peppers from our garden and a dash of cumin to give this an even more Mexican flair. I served a Mexican Garlic Bread (with my garlic pesto and mexican cheddar).

This soup is so simple and can be made thinner with the addition of more broth or made more dip-like by adding less broth. It can be stretched to 4 servings as a starter or made to serve 2 people for dinner (with a quesadilla or some other carb-loaded side). This soup can be perfect for the summer since you don’t need to heat up the house but is a perfect healthy soup that is great in the depths of winter as well. I can’t find anything wrong with the soup – let me know if you find it!

White Bean Cilantro Lime Soup

  • 3 cans cannellini beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 limes (juice and zest)
  • 3 cloves garlic (chopped)
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups vegetable (or chicken) stock
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • a good handful of cilantro (chopped)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a stock pot, combine the oil, onion, and garlic. When onions and garlic cook down a bit, add the beans and lime zest. Cook for another minute or two.

Add in the stock. Then add the cilantro and lime juice.

Cover with a lid and bring to a slight boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for another 5 minutes. Use an immersion blender (or cool slightly and use your regular blender) to make the soup creamy and smooth.  Add a bit of salt and pepper to taste, if needed.  Set aside with the lid on tight to keep the soup hot while you finish making any other sides.

And I leave you with today’s quote… “Good manners: The noise you don’t make when you’re eating soup.” (Bennett Cerf, humorist/publisher)

11 Comments to “Cilantro White Bean Lime Soup”

  1. This soup was VERY thick. I enjoyed that about it at dinner, but I thinned the leftovers down for lunch the next day.

  2. Gorgeous soup. I’ve been wanting to make a white bean soup lately, and I like the idea of adding cilantro and lime. I will have to give something like this a try!

  3. Glad you liked the soup! Thanks for the awesome review! 🙂

  4. Looks like a lovely, thick, winter warming soup! Cilantro and lime definately would give it a mexican feel – I doubt I could find anything wrong with it if I tried!

  5. how much does this make? or how many bowls

  6. What size can for the beans? I am going to cook my own and want to figure out how many. Thx!

  7. Your photos made this look so that I couldn’t resist and have made this several times. It’s very comforting and wonderful to have in the winter and cooler months. What’s even better is that it is fairly quick to make and everyone in my home loves it!

  8. I loved this soup! I love that it is thick and creamy because of beans, rather than real cream. I can justify eating a whole bunch more of it that way! The only change I made was that I used chicken ‘Better Than Bullion’ and water, rather than chicken stock. And I salted and peppered the onions while they sauteed, rather than wait until the end.

    Thanks for a new ‘keeper’ recipe!

Leave a comment